Banding Honours


Scroll of Honour awarded to three members.

Following nominations by Vice President Hugh Stephenson, three banding buddies have been awarded the Scroll of Honour.

At a meeting of Spennymoor Town Councol, Town Mayor Derek Taylor presented the scrolls - the highest honour the Council can bestow - for long service to Spennmoor Town Band and to the community. These went to George Lavery, President (92), a member for 75 years; Don Lavery (79), for 71 years and was Chairman for many years; and Mike Johnson (current Treasurer) for 61 years.

This is an amazing achievement and we are incredible grateful for contributions - well done!

Related posts

Sun 13 Nov 2016
Today was once again the honour of Hugh Stephenson, Vice President of Spennymoor Town Band,  to lay a wreath at the cenotaph in memory of the fallen in conflicts current and past.

Sat 24 Sep 2016
Principal players from Reg Vardy Band deliver free individual and group masterclasses.